Oaklawn Rotary announces scholarship recipients

Oaklawn Rotary Club recently honored its 2018 student scholarship winners.

Recipients of $1000 scholarships to the college of their choice included the following area high school seniors: Ava Hicks, Lake Hamilton; Myrka Gutierrez, Lakeside; Chloe Davis, Jessieville; Esmeralda Ramirez, Cutter Morning Star; Johnathan Edwards, Fountain Lake; Ali Meeks, Mountain Pine; and Logan Grant, Hot Springs.

"We are very proud of the accomplishments of these fine young men and women and look forward to following their future progress," said Ed Sanders, Oaklawn Rotary Scholarship Committee chair.

Club members participate in many fundraising efforts throughout the year in order to provide student scholarships. Four club members, Lee Richardson, Gary Welch, Pete Blakeslee and Ed Sanders, also contributed to individual scholarships.

"Primarily, we partner with Turf Catering by volunteering at the Hot Springs Convention Center concession stands," said Lesia Landers, club president. "We greatly value this opportunity to invest in tomorrow's leaders."

School on 05/13/2018

Log in to comment