ASMSA students receive National Merit Scholarships

EVANSTON, Ill. -- Two Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts students were selected to receive $2,500 scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corp.

National Merit Scholarship Corp. announced the recipients Tuesday. The 2,500 Merit Scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 finalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program, a news release said.

Seniors Benjamin Allen, of Bella Vista, and Sabrina Jones, of Russellville, were each awarded $2,500 scholarships.

Scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state's percentage of the nation's graduating high school seniors.

Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the Finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.

School on 05/13/2018

Log in to comment